Course Description: This 3-hour course meets all the firearm safety training requirements for the State of Iowa’s Non-professional and Professional Permit to Carry Weapons application process per Chapter 724 of the Iowa Code. The course curriculum far exceeds the minimum training requirements per Iowa Department of Public Safety Administrative Rule 661 and Chapter 91. This course is required for new permit applicants and is HIGHLY recommended for all current permit holders, who will soon be applying for a permit renewal. The laws in Iowa have changed significantly recently and permit holders are encouraged to attend this training for a refresher on the new laws. This is NOT an NRA-approved course; however, it is taught by NRA-certified instructors.
Registration Fee: $60.00/student (Registration Fee is transferable but not refundable).
Course Goals: To teach the basic knowledge, skills and attitude necessary for owning, using and carrying a handgun safely and ethically in the State of Iowa. Topics of focus include intensive lessons in the legal requirements and restrictions associated with carrying weapons in the State of Iowa.
Lesson 1 – State of Iowa Law
Lesson 2 – Legal Use of Force in the State of Iowa
Lesson 3 – Developing a Personal Protection Plan
Lesson 4 – Strategies for Violent Encounters and the Aftermath of a Self-defense Shooting
Lesson 5 – Basic Handgun Knowledge and Safe Gun Handling Rules
Lesson 6 – Basic Ammunition Knowledge and the Fundamental Elements of Pistol Shooting
Lesson 7 – Selecting and Maintaining Your Handgun
- All students must have a valid government-issued photo identification card for proof of:
- Residency in the State of Iowa residency; and
- Age ≤ 21 years old.
NOTE: This is a non-shooting course. This is instructor-led training delivered in a standard classroom environment. Firearms and live-ammunition are NOT permitted in the classroom. No Exceptions.
Additional Information: Upon successful completion of this course students will be issued a course completion certificate. This certificate must be presented to the County Sheriff’s office in the county in which you reside as proof of receiving firearm safety training.
Course Dates: The State of Iowa Non-professional Permit to Carry Weapons course is held every week.
Reciprocity: Due to the ever-changing reciprocity laws, we cannot state in advance in what additional states you will be able to legally carry. Currently the Utah CFP is valid in 36 states and counting. The map below indicates states that honor the Iowa Permit To Carry Weapons in BLUE and non-reciprocity states in RED.
- Iowa Permit To Carry Weapons is honored in the following states:
Alaska, Alabama, Arkansas, Arizona, Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Iowa, Idaho, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Michigan, Missouri, Mississippi, Montana, North Carolina, North Dakota, Nebraska, New Hampshire, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Vermont, Wisconsin, West Virginia, and Wyoming
- Iowa Permit To Carry Weapons is NOT honored in the following states:
California, Connecticut, District of Columbia, Delaware, Hawaii, Illinois, Massachusetts, Maryland, Minnesota, New Jersey, New Mexico, Nevada, New York, Oregon, Rhode Island, South Carolina, and Washington.
We know you have a choice in firearms education and training providers in the Quad-Cities metropolitan area and we thank you for choosing Davenport Guns and Shooting Club.