Course Description: This 4-hour course meets all the training requirements for the Utah Non-Resident Concealed Firearm Permit. This is NOT an NRA course; however, it is taught by NRA certified instructors. The course curriculum and instructors are certified by the Utah Bureau of Criminal Investigation.
Registration Fee: $60.00/each (Registration fee is transferable, but not refundable).
Note: The registration fee of this course does not include the fees you will pay to the State of Utah ($67.00), fingerprinting (approximately $20.00), passport photography ($14.00). We will provide you with information as to where to get the fingerprints and photo.
Course Goal: To teach the basic knowledge, skills and attitude necessary for owning, using and caring for a handgun safely. Topics of focus include intensive lessons in the legal requirements and restrictions associated with carrying a concealed firearm in the State of Utah.
Lesson 1 – Basic Firearm Mechanics and Operation
Lesson 2 – Concealed Carry Ammunition Overview
Lesson 3 – Several Types of Concealed Carry Firearms
Lesson 4 – CCW General Firearms Safety
Lesson 5 – Utah Legal Instruction:
- Justifiable Use of Deadly Force
- Citizen’s Arrest
- Concealed Firearm Permit Reciprocity
- Transporting Firearms
Lesson 6 – Concealed Carry Firearms Storage & Accessories Overview
Lesson 7 – Escalation of Force Continuum
Lesson 8 – Civil and Criminal Liability
Lesson 9 – Firing Stances and Positions
- Valid Driver’s License or identification card
- ≤ 21 years of age
- Valid Concealed Carry Weapons Permit/License from your state of residence.
Course Completion: Students will be issued the following:
- Utah Concealed Firearm Permit Application;
- Detailed instructions for how to apply for your Utah CFP, where to get your finger prints taken, and where to get your passport photograph taken;
- A USB flash drive with a copy of the Utah Minimum Training Standards.
Additional Information: The permit usually takes approximately 60-days to receive once mailed to Utah BCI. The permit is good for 5 years and may be renewed online.
Reciprocity: Due to the ever-changing reciprocity laws, we cannot state in advance in what additional states you will be able to legally carry. Currently the Utah CFP is valid in 37 states and counting. The map below indicates states that honor the Iowa/Utah in BLUE and non-reciprocity states in RED.