Iowa Permit To Carry Weapons Shooting Course
Conceal Carry A Handgun With Confidence!
Course Description: This 4-hour course meets all the firearm safety training requirements to apply for the State of Iowa Non-Professional or Professional Permit to Carry Weapons per Iowa Code Chapter 724. The course curriculum far exceeds the minimum training requirements per Iowa Department of Public Safety Administrative Rule 661 and Chapter 91. This course is designed to empower new shooters, who are or will soon be concealed carry permit holders. This course develops the student’s basic knowledge, skills, and attitude essential for avoiding dangerous confrontations with criminal predators and focuses on the safe and effective use of a concealed handgun for self-defense. This is NOT an NRA-approved course; however, it is taught by NRA-certified instructors.
This is a non-drawing live-fire shooting course.
Registration Fee: $74.95/student (fee is transferable to future course dates, but not refundable)
Note: Please bring Proof of Purchase to the class (paper receipt or electronic copy required)
Course Length: 4-hours (minimum), the actual course length may vary at the instructor’s discretion.
Course Goals: To teach the basic knowledge, skills and attitude necessary for owning, using and carrying a handgun safely and ethically in the State of Iowa.
Lesson 1 – State of Iowa Law
Lesson 2 – Legal Use of Deadly Force
Lesson 3 – Developing a Personal Safety Plan
Lesson 4 – Strategies for Violent Encounters and the Aftermath of a Self-defense Shooting
Lesson 5 – Basic Handgun Knowledge and Safe Gun Handling Rules
Lesson 6 – Basic Ammunition Knowledge and the Fundamental Elements of Pistol Shooting
Lesson 7 – Selecting and Maintaining Your Handgun
Lesson 8 – Practical and Live-Fire Exercises
- All students must have a valid government-issued photo identification card for proof of residency in the state of Iowa and be 21 or older.
Live-fire shooting qualification is a 30-shot course of fire utilizing a B-27 silhouette target:
- 10 rounds fired from 5 yards;
- 10 rounds fired from 7 yards; and
- 10 rounds fired from 10 yards.
Note: To qualify 70% of the bullets must hit the scorable target area (or 21 of 30 bullets).
Required Material, Supplies and Equipment:
- Handgun – A centerfire double-action revolver or semi-automatic pistol of .38 caliber/9mm or larger caliber is required. Handguns chambered in .38 caliber or smaller are prohibited from use in this course (.380 Auto is acceptable). Students are encouraged to supply they’re own self-defense handgun for the course. All handguns must be modern, clean, lubricated and serviceable in all respects. Handguns are available for rent from Davenport Guns ($10.00/each). Those renting a handgun must purchase ammunition from Davenport Guns.
- (50) Cartridges of the correct ammunition for the handgun to be used in the course. Students are encouraged to supply they’re own ammunition for the course. Ammunition is available for purchase from Davenport Guns. Those renting a handgun must purchase ammunition from Davenport Guns.
- (1 set) Eye and Ear Protection – Students are encouraged to supply they’re own shooting glasses and hearing protection. Shooting glasses and ear muffs are available for purchase from Davenport Guns.
- Wear appropriate shooting range clothing – a crew neck T-shirt, long pants, and closed-toe footwear.
Additional Information: Included in the cost of the registration fee are the student handouts, shooting range fee and targets are all provided at no additional cost.